French with Amélie
French with Amélie
French 101 🇫🇷 : Fête d'anniversaire 🎂
0:00
-5:21

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of French with Amélie

French 101 🇫🇷 : Fête d'anniversaire 🎂

Birthday Party
1
Loading...

Coucou ☕️🇫🇷🥐 I'm Amélie Laurent and this is a 💎 subscriber-only edition 💎 of my newsletter, where I supercharge your progress from A2 to B2 through colloquial dialogues. Your support means the world to me.
If you've received this, then you either subscribed or someone forwarded it to you.
If someone forwarded it and you want to subscribe, then you can click on this handy little button:

Salut, vous êtes toujours mes champions de la langue française ! 🏆

I’m thrilled to have you with us for another edition of French with Amélie!

Birthday parties are (meant to be) fun! That’s kind of the whole point, no? A celebration. But too often these topics are made stuffy and boring in language-learning books. Not today.

Today, a birthday gets the French with Amélie treatment. Original vocabulary, real spoken French, real learning. Hope you enjoy.

Video gif. A little boy in a Chuck E. Cheese birthday crown dances in celebration. Text, “Celebrate!!!”

✅ [April’s] Monthly Level Test is coming soon. So make sure you’re keeping up with the dialogues so you can recognise the juicy new colloquial stuff from this month. 😉

Ne vous découragez pas, vous êtes sur la bonne voie! Don't get discouraged, you're on the right track! 🌟👌🏼

Gros Bisous
A 💜

Dialogue d'hier 💭

New is great, review is even better! Quickly review the last dialogue to double your learning (and see your progress). 👂🏻 Want to review with your ears? Listen here 🎧

Marcel : Alors, parlons de ta première voiture. Raconte-moi tout.

Jacques : Oh mon Dieu, ma première voiture. C'était une petite citadine, rouge vif, qui ressemblait à un jouet. Je l'ai achetée d'occasion pour presque rien, et je dois dire que c'était une sacrée bonne affaire.

Marcel : Ah oui ? Et comment elle s'appelait ?

Jacques : On l'appelait « la Rougette ». C'était une petite bête qui pouvait aller vite, mais qui était un peu difficile à gérer sur route sinueuse. Mais malgré tout, je l'aimais beaucoup.

Marcel : La Rougette, joli nom ! Et qu'est-ce qui lui est arrivé?

Jacques : Un jour, je me suis fait emboutir par un camion de livraison. La Rougette était en miettes. J'ai été dévastée, mais il fallait tourner la page. « La vie continue », comme on dit.

Marcel : C'est sûr, il faut savoir tourner la page. Mais au moins, tu as de bons souvenirs avec La Rougette.

Jacques : Absolument ! C'était ma première voiture, et je ne l'oublierai jamais. C'était le bon temps.

*✪ My Notes, Exercises and everything else for this one are here.

French 101 🇫🇷 : Fête d'anniversaire 🎂

Dialogue du Jour

Charlotte : Éva ! Bon anniversaire ! … Waouh, il y a des ballons partout, c'est super joli !

Éva : Merci, Charlotte ! Je suis tellement contente que tu sois là. Tu sais, je suis au max du max ✪ avec tous les préparatifs, mais je pense que tout est prêt maintenant.

Charlotte : Ça a l'air génial. Tu as vraiment tout prévu à la perfection. Et devinez quoi ? ✪ J'ai ramené un petit quelque chose pour toi.

Éva : Ah, tu es adorable ! On le mettra sur la table des cadeaux. On va faire la teuf ✪, tu sais comment ça se passe ici.

Charlotte : Je n'en doute pas une seconde ! Qu'est-ce que vous avez prévu après le gâteau ?

Éva : On pensait vaquer à ✪ quelques jeux drôles. Puis, on pourrait aller voir ✪ un film dans le salon. J'ai installé un grand écran.

Charlotte : Ah c'est top ça ! Je suis sûre que tout le monde va ricaner pendant le film.

Éva : C'est le plan ! Merci d'être venue, Charlotte. Ça compte beaucoup pour moi.

Charlotte : Pas de quoi, Éva. J'aurais jamais raté ça.

♡ 𝕃𝕚𝕜𝕖 𝕓𝕖𝕝𝕠𝕨 👇

Notes

je suis au max du max ✨✨= je suis à fond = I’m pumped / I’m on cloud nine / I’m loving-life.

Ah, the joys of partying! When you're so happy you can't even think straight, that's when you're "au max du max.” That feeling of elation, running a marathon, finishing an exam. You get the idea. Students have seen French eyeballs pop out of heads when they used this one .. especially one for the younger germination. 

Et devinez quoi ? 🧩✨ = Et vous savez quoi ? = And guess what?

This one's a classic teaser, perfect for spicing up stories or announcements. It's the drumroll before the big reveal. Example: "J'ai fini tous mes devoirs, et devinez quoi ? J'ai même eu le temps de faire un gâteau!"

This post is for paid subscribers

French with Amélie
French with Amélie
Learn conversational French the easy way 🚀 Incredible colloquial dialogues, lively, up-to-date, realistic, and adapted to your level 💜 Join 20k+ learners.